World Series of Poker Changes Player of the Year Scoring and Payout Schedule for 2024

The World Series of Poker recently unveiled revised regulations and a payout schedule that guarantee a min-cash should equal at least twice what an event’s buy-in costs.

These changes come just in time for this year’s World Series of Poker which starts today and runs up until July 17.

Player of Year Race “made easy.”

WSOP officials announced an important modification in how its Player of the Year awards are calculated in 2024. Instead of counting all cashes received during that year towards final totals, only their top ten cashes will count towards final tallies.

Ian Mataskis
Ian Mataskis has hopes of a second WSOP Player of the Year. But the rules have changed. (Image: WSOP)

Players need a minimum of five cashes in order to qualify. Only the first online bracelet won will count towards this qualification process if multiple wins occur simultaneously.

As in past years, certain events do not contribute toward Player of the Year points: these include the $500 Casino employees event, three Senior events, ladies championship and tag-team competition.

Here you will find all of the rules, a points calculator and current leaderboard information.

Payout structures were modified, as well.

For 2024, the World Series of Poker also introduced an adjustment to its payout structure; all minimum cashes now receive at least twice what was required as buy-in to an event.

While this change brings in extra money for those just barely managing to secure slips for cashier delivery, it takes away much needed revenue for players aiming for bracelets at final tables.

Let us compare the 2023 $1,500 Omaha Hi-Lo 8 or Better event’s payout structure with what would happen if 2024 payout rules were implemented.

Last year’s event drew 1,143 participants, with Jim Collopy emerging victorious and taking home $262,542. All top 172 positions received at least $2,404 each while the runner-up received $162,226 as their earnings.

Collopy — widely known by his nickname of Mr. Big Queso — would have received $244,422, or nearly $20k less than what he actually took home to Maryland this year. Second place would have done slightly better at $162,948 compared to last year.

That money would have gone to the bottom 172 players, who would have received $3,005, or $601 more than what was paid out last year for equal participation numbers.

Here’s another illustration, using last year’s $10,000 seven card stud championship which attracted 130. A smaller field size will have less of an effect on the winner’s bottom line.

At that event, the minimum cash was $16,3778; under today’s rules it would have increased to $20,472. Brian Yoon won $311,433 but would have received approximately 11-percent less – Dan Shak would have made out better with approximately $9-percent extra pay!

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) provides an informative payout calculator on their website; click here to take advantage of it and experiment.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *